My birthday

My birthday last weekend was FUN! SO MUCH FUN! I shed some tears when my family called, about the unusualness of you not being able to celebrate with me. That was hard. But I could distract myself well with getting ready for my little weekend trip and with baking.

Later I visited you at the clinic. It was a sunny and warm day and we had some birthday cake in the clinic garden. I didn’t have too much time, late afternoon I left by train to visit my dear friend Steph. She already invited some more friends and we had champagne, coffee and more cake. Later that night we went to a small soul/pop concert.

Concert

We ended the night with cocktails before we headed back to my friend’s place.

The next day started late with a delicious pancake breakfast. It was a georgous day again and we went to the park, which is part of a botanical garden and a little zoo. We relaxed and whatched the storks and kids chasing the storks.

Park

We had more plans for Sunday night, an event with young artists on stage. Unfortunately, we got there too late and the tickets were sold out. So, this night turned out to be another fun cocktail night. I really didn’t mind this alternative.

I really enjoyed visiting my friend and doing such fun things. It truly felt like a mini vacation. During the week that followed I was able to feel calm and relaxed, I already forgot how that feels.

I know you’ve had a rough weekend yourself. The memories of your suicide attempt haunted you. And I know how guilty you feel about it. I wish I could take that load from you. Or at least some of it. It feels very good then, when you tell me how glad you were I had such a fun weekend. It’s important to get away sometimes and I’m glad you know this, too.

3 thoughts on “My birthday

  1. I am so glad that you were able to get away for your birthday and that you had such a fun weekend! And I am glad that your husband understands that you needed a little bit of time away to celebrate. I hope the year to come brings happiness, peace and healing for both you and your husband.

  2. I loved reading your post about your birthday. Being in the moment is something that I enjoy too, especially when plans change and you just go with it. So happy belated birthday!

  3. Thank you for your kind words and wishes, Lisa and Erika! I keep hoping that each next year/step will be better than the previous. It must get better at some point and I’m not going to lose hope 😉

Leave a comment