Something has changed

I’m feeling better since the weekend. Nowadays, when I leave the office in the evening, I don’t feel like falling into this deep hole that I fell into day after day. Of course, I do cry here and there. And I don’t feel so bad about that. It’s a healthy thing to do. But my outlook is better now.

It changed after I visited a therapist on Friday night. Friday was a bad day for me. I cried ALL THE TIME. That was the case also when I was sitting in front of the therapist. But he is good! I left and felt relieved and felt that something can be done. I will definitely go back in two weeks. On my way home, when crossing the river, I decided to get off the tram and sit by the river for a while. The weather was wonderful and people just sat there, drank wine and enjoyed the sunset behind the city’s magnificent cathedral.

IMG_20160715_200918495[1]

~ Evening sun, skyline, and the mighty Rhine river ~

It helps to be in this beatiful city. The people here love their city and the city wants to be loved. The picture above is proof for it. And not only that. Everyone I have met here so far is just so friendly and warmhearted. I really enjoy wandering through the city and talking to random people in the stores.

Then Saturday was just a great day for me and I came home exhausted and happy. That continued on Sunday. I had a very slow morning and then took my bike on a tour to a beautiful park and arboretum. I found a place to quietly read the weekend newspaper and then walked through the park a little bit. I had to fight back some tears. We both loved botanical gardens and rhododendrons which they had plenty of. But still, it was a wonderful day that I truly enjoyed!

3 thoughts on “Something has changed

  1. Sounds like you’ve been enjoying more time to yourself, that is good! Start creating new happy memories for yourself. If you ever feel the need to cry, sometimes you just have to let it go – it can be therapeutic. It’s never a straight path, some days will be better than others but you are doing very well!!! Keep going!

  2. I am glad you have had some good days and that seeing a therapist has helped. I think that talking to an impartial 3rd party like a therapist is so helpful when dealing with something difficult.

    I hope this coming weekend holds many happy moments for you. Tears are inevitable, but it’s a good sign that you can see the good things around you right now.

  3. Just checking in. Hope you’re doing okay. Good to see that you have someone to talk to at this time. Not because you aren’t strong, but because sometimes it takes saying things out loud to get some closure. I too am going through a challenging time right now (my 12 year marriage ended late last year), and I am in the midst of a legal and emotional quagmire. Your last post reminded me that I should stop and take a moment every so often. I might not quite get the fabulous view that you have where you live, but I did take a walk in our Botanical Gardens here and really enjoyed it (except for the pesky Pokemon fanatics who had me sidestepping them at every turn because they had their eyes firmly glued to their phones!!). Anyway, not sure whether hearing about my woes helps you, but there’s something to be said for being brave and taking some scary steps forward in life. It sounds as though you are taking some big, positive steps forward, so that is good to hear. Right now I am just looking towards the future. I know that I have horribleness ahead of me for a while but I tell myself that it can’t go on forever. In the meantime I seesaw between feeling like I will make it through this okay (a picture of positivity), to laying awake at night full-up with worries (a picture of negativity). Sigh. Life is not easy. So I guess I have either depressed you or uplifted you-ha ha!! Anyway, take care and keep posting. I look forward to reading your next instalment.

Leave a comment